Welcome to my beauty blog!

Hello world!! (Ok, probably mostly my friends)

I’ve decided to create this beauty blog since I’ve recently become passionate about makeup and skin care and so on. Growing up, I wasn’t really exposed to a lot of makeup since my mom rarely wore any, so I had to learn from friends and lately – youtube. From the first time a friend offered me brown lipliner in grade 7 (what was I thinking) to now, I have fortunately learned a lot and discovered my main looks that I love. Generally, I enjoy a really natural look – but I also love the drama of winged liner and red lips. I’ve also been fortunate enough to be able to afford some nicer products, however I still appreciate drugstore brands and have found definite favourites.

I am still, as my tagline says a neophyte (beginner) when it comes to makeup (at the ripe old age of 26, YEAH) but I am just having so much fun! So hopefully you’ll come across something I write about here and love it too, or at least try it out!

So what should I write about in this first post? Well, I guess since I am so inspired by one of my favourite youtube makeup guru’s (LillianMasie – go check out her channel!) I will write about my summer cosmetics haul (things I’ve acquired over the last few months). Ok not everything, but I’ll write about my summer favourites thus far, and of course some things I’ve been using for years now/all-time favourites.

FACE:

-Live Clean Fresh Face Foaming Daily Cleanser – Vegan, natural, and above all, seems to work. However if you know me, then you know my skin’s pretty clear in general.

-Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Natural – great pressed mineral powder.

-Benefit Erase Paste concealer – great for dark circles, and although it looks like a small amount in the jar, you don’t need much to do the job!

-Mac Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul – a nice, natural blush!

EYES:

*My “holy grail” of makeup essentials – the Shu Uemura eyelash curler. I tried a few different curlers when I was in my teenage years, hoping they would work. My lashes aren’t the “typical” short asian lashes, but they are straight and point downward. CoverGirl, Revlon, Maybelline – tried them all and I didn’t know that it’s because the curvature of the tool is too deep/not optimal for Asian eyes. Enter Shu Uemura, which was introduced to me about 6 years ago – AMAZING. The only lash curler to ever work, and I love it and would highly recommend it (even if you don’t have Asian eyes 😉 )

*Make Up For Ever Professional Aqua Smoky Lash – I only started using this in February this year after trying my friends’ one night while getting ready for her birthday. Keeps the curl for the entire day, no transfer, and 110% waterproof.

*Maybelline Line Stiletto liquid liner in Blackest Black. This is one of Lillian Masie’s favourites that she said would probably work best for beginners – and she was totally right! It’s so easy to work with to create the winged liner look, and at around $8, definitely worth buying.

*Diorshow Brow Styler – 1 shade for all skin tones and hair colours. So easy to use!

LIPS:

*Revlon Color Burst Lip Butters – I LOVE these lip butters!! My first one was Candy Apple which is a bright red colour and easier to apply/reapply than lipstick and definitely buildable. I bought it in Sweet Tart but ended up not really liking the colour (too pink) but I just picked up Pink Truffle and am so happy with it. Definitely close to my natural lip colour, but adding a warmer pink tone.

*Dior Addict Lipstick in New Look – my very first red lipstick!! 🙂 Great colour and I love the packaging/tube. Looks sleek!

Anyway…I also recently bought a bunch of great brushes from Elf and Sigma and am so impressed so far with the quality. We shall see how they stand the test of time. The Elf brushes are extremely inexpensive ($3 each for the Studio line!!) and the Sigma’s are slightly more, but definitely more affordable than some other brands out there, and amaaaazing. I am loving my Angled Top Kabuki brush!

Alright so today I tried a few new products I got as samples at Sephora, and I am pretty pleased. The Dior Hydralife BB Creme seems to give a more matted finish than my Dior Hydralife Tinted Moisturizer and I also like that it feels lighter. Will most likely be buying in the future. I also wore Benefit’s Bella Bamba 3D Brightening blush and I am in love! Such a pretty colour, such a fun name! Here’s a pic of my look today since I realize this post is so text-heavy:

Image

Face: Dior Hydralife BB Creme, Mac Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium Dark, Benefit Erase Paste in Number 2 Medium, Benefit Bella Bamba 3D Brightening Face Powder
Eyes: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original (first time using it, done well so far), Maybelline Expert Wear Eyeshadow Quad in Chai Latte, Make Up For Ever Professional Aqua Smoky Lash Extra Black mascara, Diorshow Brow Styler
Lips: Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

Here endeth the first post! Sorry for rambling/so much text! I’ll post more photos and such in future posts!!!

One thought on “Welcome to my beauty blog!

Leave a Reply

